So I’m just a little late to the party

Starting a blog? Really? In 2013? How original. As usual, I’m a bit of a late bloomer, particularly when it comes to technology.  So I’ll offer a little explanation about why this, and why now, and then we’ll get down to business.

In about six weeks, I will start a 3-month sabbatical from my job with a global health organization in the Boston area.  I’ve worked there for almost 15 years – the majority of my professional life.  I’ve grown with the organization.  I started in an administrative role, part of a staff of about 15 people.  I’m now a Director, and the organization has increased in staff, budget, and influence.

It’s taken me a long time to get to this point, and now this much-needed break is on the near horizon. I want to be sure I use the gift of this sabbatical as wisely and effectively as possible. It was suggested I blog as a way to stay in touch with friends and coworkers during part of my break when I’ll be traveling. I’ve decided that it can be more than that – that I can use a blog as a way to share what I’ve learned (and what I’ve overlooked) in planning my sabbatical. That I can use it as a space to share resources, to explore options, and to voice whatever discoveries I make as I prepare for and embark on this adventure.

As I start this, it’s my intention that this will be finite, and that the blog will wrap up around the time I return to work at the end of August.  I hope that beginning to blog now will get me into the habit, so that I stick with it while I’m actually on sabbatical.  We’ll see how that works out…

Thanks in advance to anyone who’s out there following along, and thanks especially to my ridiculously supportive husband.

And we’re off…

Leave a Reply

