And…we’re back!

Hello loyal friends and readers! It’s been a while, huh? If you’ve been here before you will remember that I first launched this blog at the start of a 3-month sabbatical from my (former) job in the summer of 2013. I wanted to share the resources that I found, the lessons learned, and the experiences I had during that valuable time. If you’re new to the site, feel free to wander among the archives and read about learning French, modern art, and the awesome teenagers I know.

I stopped blogging at the end of the sabbatical, but the questions and ideas that were raised during that 3-month period did not stop. In fact, they only became more prominent, more pressing. Not long after my return to work, I took a walk with my boss, who has also been a mentor and friend to me for more than 15 years. She asked what I learned from my time away and I responded without hesitation: I want to live in Europe.  Even my brief time in France showed me that putting yourself in a new and challenging situation may be uncomfortable, but it’s the only way we grow.

Sometimes it’s still hard to believe, but I’m writing this from a sunny spot on the couch in my temporary apartment on Lepelkruisstraat, in Amsterdam. Getting here wasn’t easy. It took a lot of patience, perseverance, and support; a little dash of courage and some  blind, reckless faith that it would all work out. But I did it (and you can, too, but more on that later…)! And now, about a month in to my time here, the initial shock has worn off and I feel like I may have something to say, to share, once again.

Thanks for staying with me and for supporting me in so many ways. I look forward to having you all with me on this new adventure. More to come…

Leave a Reply

